4th Annual Symposium on Materials Research
Indiana University
July 17th, 2017

We thank the generous support from the College of Arts and Sciences

2017 Symposium on Materials Research Presentation Awards

Outstanding Oral Presentation

First name Last name (grad student, ___ lab)
First name Last name (postdoc, ___ lab)

Outstanding Poster Presentation

First name Last name (grad student, ___ lab)
First name Last name (grad student, ___ lab)
First name Last name (grad student, ___ lab)
First name Last name (REU, ___ lab)

Announcement and Call for Abstracts

Abstracts for both oral and posters due by June 30th

Download Abstract Template

  • All day event on IUB campus
  • Ten student oral presentations
    (15 minute talk + 10 minute questions)
  • Keynote speaker with career Q & A
  • Poster Session
  • Dinner and games at Bryan park
  • Please register by June 30th (free)
  • AWARD$ for outstanding student and postdoc presentations (oral and poster)


The purpose of the symposium is to provide a forum for presentation of research by IU students and postdocs doing work related to materials research, to foster an interactive environment that will lead to cross-fertilization of ideas and new collaborative interactions, and to provide professional development and networking opportunities for undergraduate students, graduate students, and postdocs.


Student Organizing Committee

Back Row (left to right): Kwahun Lee (, Josh Santana (, Nick Daanen (, David Wisman (, Toby Morris (, Hitesh Kumar Waghwani (

Front Row:  Dr. Yan Yu (, Heather Malone (, Jocelyn Legere (, James Dobscha (, Chris Williams (, Alex Chen (, Yanqi Yu (

If you have any questions please email Dr. Yan Yu at, Chem Pool (